How I got mixed up with an exploding whale

Beached whale, filming of Reno 911!: Miami
Filming of the blown-up whale scene for Reno 911!: Miami. This is not the actual place the explosion took place. Credit: Mark Sabanathan, under CC BY-NC-ND 2.0 https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/2.0/

One of the coolest aspects of my job is working with the movies, AKA Hollywood.

Well, to be fair, and honest, my involvement is minimal.

I get called from time to time for permission to use one of my employer’s facilities to film scenes for a movie, or commercial, or music video, or a still photo shoot.

It’s not up to me to grant permission–that’s done by the department director where I work.  I just help out in getting the permission, relaying any requirements to the film/production company, and so on.

One of the weirder things I worked on was for the filming of Reno 911!: Miami.  They needed a good spot to blow up a whale (a dead one) and we had just the right place: an unused sludge drying bed at a wastewater treatment plant.

I made the arrangements but due to my schedule at the time I couldn’t go out to watch the explosion.

To this day I don’t know if they used a “fake” whale or an actual dead whale in this scene.

PS: The video below of an exploding whale is not from the movie.  I couldn’t find a clip of the scene online, probably due to copyright issues.

Leave a Reply

